## 20.—Twenty-third Ministry of New Brunswick, as at Apr. 30, 1965

(Party standing at latest General Election, Apr. 22, 1963: 31 Liberal and 21 Progressive Conservative.)

Office	Name		Date of First Appointment			Date of Present Appointment		
D	Hon. Louis J. Robichaud	Tlas	10	1000	T-1	10	1000	
Premier and Attorney General	Hon. L. G. DESBRISAY	July July		75,000,715,000,000	July			
Minister of Finance and Industry	is the second se	- Jan	15		July			
Minister of Lands and Mines	Hon. H. G. CROCKER	July					1960	
Minister of Education	Hod. Henry G. Irwin	July	10		(2. 80)(	15.00	1960	
Minister of Public Works	Hon. Andrew F. Richard	July	12,	1960	July	12,	1960	
Minister of Agriculture	Hon. J. Adrien Lévesque	July	12,	1960	July	12,	1960	
Minister of Health	Hon. George L. DUMONT	July	12,	1960	July	12,	1960	
Minister of Labour	Hon. KENNETH J. WEBBER	July	12,	1960	July	12,	1960	
Minister of Municipal Affairs	Hon. JOSEPH E. LEBLANC	July	12,	1960	July	12,	1960	
Chairman, New Brunswick Electric Power Commission.	Hon. D. A. Riley	May	28,	1963	July	3,	1963	
Minister of Youth and Welfare	Hon. WILLIAM R. DUFFIE	July	12,	1960	Nov.	30,	1960	
Minister of Fisheries	Hon. ERNEST RICHARD	May	28,	1963	July	8,	1983	
Provincial Secretary	Hon. DONALD HARPER	July	12,	1960	July	8,	1963	

## Subsection 5.—Quebec

The Government of Quebec consists of a Lieutenant-Governor, an Executive Council and a bicameral legislature—the Legislative Council and the Legislative Assembly. Lieutenant-Governors from Confederation (1867) to 1959 are cited in the 1960 Year Book, p. 109; since that date the position has been held by the Hon. Onesime Gagnon, commissioned to office Feb. 14, 1958, followed by the Hon. Paul Comtois, commissioned to office Oct. 6, 1961.

The Legislative Council has 24 members nominated for life by the Lieutenant-Governor in Council. The Legislative Assembly has 95 elected members and, like the Legislative Council, has the power to bring forward Bills relating to civil and administrative matters and to the amendment or repeal of existing laws. A Bill to be approved by the Lieutenant-Governor must have received the assent of both Houses. Only the Legislative Assembly can bring forward a Bill requiring the expenditure of public money. The maximum life of a legislature is five years. Premiers from Confederation to 1959 are listed in the 1960 Year Book, p. 110.

Each member of the Legislative Council and the Legislative Assembly receives a sessional indemnity of \$10,000, plus an expense allowance of \$2,000 to each Legislative Councillor and \$5,000 to each member of the Legislative Assembly. In addition to this sessional indemnity and allowance, the Premier receives an annual indemnity of \$12,000, an expense allowance of \$4,000 and a lodging allowance of \$2,000; Ministers with Portfolio each receive an annual indemnity of \$10,000 plus a \$5,000 expense allowance; Ministers without Portfolio each receive an indemnity of \$5,000 plus a \$2,000 expense allowance; the Speaker of the Legislative Assembly receives an indemnity of \$8,000, an expense allowance of \$1,000 and a lodging allowance of \$1,000 and the Deputy Speaker receives an indemnity of \$5,000 and an expense allowance of \$1,000; the Lead of the Opposition in the Assembly